Book Review: Resurgence(Demon Spring #1)

The first time I came to know about this series and the wonderful Indie author was on Instagram. She was looking for reviewers for her upcoming book. I went on Goodreads, checked the blurb, and I knew that I had to read this book. Demons, demon hunters and a demon turned good, common, it had to be something. Read the blurb here.

Catching up with more pending reviews, I posted yesterday about Demon Spring on my blog. From the moment I came to know about this series, I knew I had to read it. There are demons, demon hunters, curses, talismans and a well created Underworld. I loved reading it for its background building, drama, and kick-ass female characters. If you are a fan of the supernaturals, definitely recommend this urban fantasy series to you. And @susherevans is super nice to talk to. Go say Hi to her. Do checkout my review. Link is in bio. In the picture is Resurgence, the first book in the series. I’ll be reading Book 2 soon. Also the candles I received in my @tbb_box . . On another note, my giveaway ends today. Do participate if you haven’t still. . . . . #demonspring #resurgence #susherevans #sungoldenraypublishing #candles #kindle #kindleindia #greenandblack #thereadingowl_ #goodreads

Luckily, I won a giveaway offering ‘Demon Spring’ candle from cornerfoldcandles. Sweet Sush sent me an e-copy of her book as well. I was over the moon. I dived into the book asap and let me tell you, the book was all I had expected.

What I liked:

  • Organization. From categorizing the demons according to their powers to having a demon hunter organization with a proper hierarchy, all the things are very well defined and appealed to the organization freak in me.
  • Background. The book starts with descriptions of various demons. Not just this, the author has done a wonderful job of covering all bases while giving the background stories and I found no loose ends.
  • Powerful female characters. Cam, Anya, the Lilin demons Angela and Nunzia, and the heads at ICDM, all represent women at powerful and lead positions. They are independent and strong even though they could be bitchy. Cam is so much more assertive than her counterparts. I wished Anya showed more courage against Bael.
  • I enjoyed the easy camaraderie Jack and Cam share.
  • The underworld description blew my mind. It reminded me of the dark fairy tales, with the mystical castles and magical creatures.

What lacked for me:

  • Jack is a grief-stricken man and I felt bad for him but there are just sooo many scenes where he is floating in self-pity. He also acts a scared kitten at places. He could very well talk to people in his division without Cam’s help.
  • I felt Cam’s concern was mostly smothering Jack and not letting him deal with his own troubles. Thus, the appearance of Anya and the changed dynamics came as a respite.

Waiting for more:

  • I wish to read more about demons, their powers, and creation. I would also like to know more about demon curses, how one puts or breaks them. I hope the next books in the series have them.

Recommendations:

  • If you are a fan of supernatural and like your stories with a pinch of drama, romance, and kick-ass women, you should definitely pick this up.

 

Book: Resurgence (Demon Spring #1)
Author: S. Usher Evans
Publisher: Sun's Golden Ray
Expected Publication: Feb 2018
No. of pages: 233
My rating: 3.5/5

Leave a comment