Gleanings of the Road – Not a Book Review

When I picked this book the first time, I could not read it for long. The ideas, the language, the genre, everything was new to me. I had almost put it on my DNF list when I decided to give it another try.

IMG_9399.jpg

Trust me when I say, I am happy that I finished it. Tagore was one of the most prominent writers from India and will always be remembered for his contribution to Indian literature. I feel a little ashamed to admit that I hadn’t read him except for a few short stories as part of school curriculum.

Then ‘Gleanings of the Road’ came along. The book blurb said that it had essays from when Tagore traveled to Europe and then to America. What these letters contain is a glimpse into the mind of this great poet, whose writings, a lot of people swear by.

I do not claim to have understood all of it, no. I am far from picking even the slightest grain from this vast warehouse of knowledge. But I did peek in the door and what I saw was very enlightening, very refreshing. In these essays, he reflects on the ideas of India, Europe, Desires, Restraint, and Limitlessness.

What struck me most was how radical Tagore’s ideas were for his time. At a time, when the country was burning with hatred for English, he saw them as a race to learn from. He did not condone their imperial natures. But he respected them for their organizational, work, and social ethics.

I feel that the reason I was put off during the prologue was the constant comparisons Tagore makes between India and Europe, Calcutta and Mumbai, and Land and Water. But I realized it was the theme he was using in his writing during the entire trip.

That is all I could make out. I am absolutely none the wiser about where I should be limitless in my thoughts or restraint myself to be truly happy.

Also, when I rate the book as 3/5, it is not because the book is not good. I am in no position to comment on Tagore’s work. I cannot even say if the translation does justice to the text. The rating is because of my limitations in grasping the text. I feel I am not mature enough to truly know what the poet wants to convey.

Hope you’ll read it and discuss what you felt.

Thank you Niyogi Books for sending a copy of the book to me.

Neha.

Book: Gleanings of the Road
Author: Rabindranath Tagore
Publisher: Niyogi Books 
Publication: December 2017
No. of pages: 224
My rating: 3/5

 

 

Leave a comment