Book Review: Wonder Woman Warbringer

When it comes to comic books, the most I would read are Aesop’s fables, Panchatantra or comic strips that come in the newspaper. Action was never my go-to genre. Hence I was sceptical to pick up Wonder Woman. My knowledge of the superhero domain is pitiful. But this book blew me away. If anyone could write such an amazing tale, it is Leigh Bardugo. After Six of Crows, Crooked Kingdom, and now Wonder Woman, I am planning to read rest of her books too by the end of this year.

I finished reading #wonderwomanwarbringer last week and it was everything. With mythological tales, diverse characters, drama, and action I could not have asked for a better first ‘DC Icon’ read. And nobody writes dialogues like Leigh. After reading SoC, CK and WW, I am planning to read all of her books. It is one of my #readingresolutions for 2018. A full review will be up on my blog today evening. Do check out. 4 ✨ for this. . ❓❓❓ . QOTD: What are your plans for this long weekend? . I am at my mom’s, eating good food and chilling. I will be participating in the #24in48readathon over the weekend. Let’s see if I am able to pull it off. . . . . #wonderwoman #wonderwomanfunko #redandblue #dcicons #leighbardugo #penguinbooks

Why I so liked Wonder Woman:

Narration and dialogues. Nobody writes better dialogues than Leigh. She is the queen. Along with the well told story, what makes the book engaging are Leigh’s trademark twists all over the book. A piece of information will be revealed at such a crucial point, you’ll not know what hit you. The book is full of action and teen drama. But the situations and dialogues are humorous with a pinch of sass. There is never a dull moment.

The characters are refreshingly diverse and they are not stereotyped. Diana is the odd one out on her island. Her will to succeed and prove herself can be related to by any or all people struggling to make a place for themselves. Alia, Jason, Nim, and Theo, all have their share of insecurities and challenges. Theo is a tech nerd who is struggling to feel involved. Nim is a gay Indian who is afraid to come out to her parents but is the confidant and outgoing in the whole group.

Another reason I loved the book is that it is full of stories and trivia from the Greek mythology. There are references to characters, ceremonies, and artifacts. The whole description of Themyscira and the Amazon sisterhood is brilliant. Leigh has amazingly integrated the world of humans and Gods at multiple places making it a very unique read.

Recommendations:

I cannot say enough how much I enjoyed reading this and will recommend it to one and all.

Book: Wonder Woman Warbringer
Author: Leigh Bardugo
Publisher: Penguin Random House
Publication: August 2017
No. of pages: 369
My rating: 4.5/5

Leave a comment